“Home Made Embellies!”

As my OLW is “THRIFTY” this year, I am trying to use my stash as much as I can and also make my own scrapbook embellishments where possible instead of buying them! That sounds easy, but sometimes when you can’t find that one thing that would finish your project off it can be very frustrating!

I love making paper and fabric flowers, banners, tags, ATC’s, rosettes, pinwheels, andΒ  hand sewing anything that will enhance my projects and add a bit of a homey feeling to them.

At the moment, resin flowers are all the rage, but they can b a little expensive. I decided on buying the Stampin’ Up! clay and moulds and have a go at making my own. This way I can make flowers and buttons to match my projects without the stress πŸ™‚

???????????????????????????????These are very light and the clay is easy to work with and dries very quick. I can paint, stain or mist them in the colours I want to match my projects and they are not too heavy. They are also flat on the back so attaching these to your cards or layouts a lot easier πŸ™‚ I also found by letting them dry in the mould for a while they are much easier to take out and you don’t squash them!

???????????????????????????????I misted two small buttons on the layout I did in the previous post and they are so cute! I used dylusions ink on them, and the coloured lovely πŸ™‚ I have another different type of mould and I am gong to try the clay in this also.

I don’t recommend using distress stains to colour them with before putting into the moulds as it is a little wet! Maybe a bit of cornflour dusted in them to stop from sticking, I am quite happy just to colour mine when they are dry πŸ™‚

I hope you have a go at making your own embellies and maybe give these a go sometime πŸ™‚

Happy Scrapping x

Leave a Reply

