“Stencils and Masks Challenge!”

The weather has turned here in Victoria, and today it is very wet and dull!  I don’t need an excuse 😉  I am doing a shift at work this evening and then my big son is taking me to the movies.  I thought I would have a break today and have a scrap. 🙂 As most of you know I have a nice collection of stencils and masks to use in my scrap booking! I use them all the time and they are now one of my ‘go to’ products 🙂  I am not really into all the arty stuff, but I like using them with paint, chalk, inks, stains, gesso and texture paste!

I thought I would have a go at this challenge at http://offtherailsscrapbooking.blogspot.com.au/2014/04/stencils-and-masks.html   as it is what I love using and I wanted to have a go at using them in a different way! 🙂

069

I found this tutorial of Heidi using a mask for stamping and I thought I would give it a go.  I used my Heidi Swapp Mega mask on the background and then stamped random images around it in Black Soot Distress ink.  I also masked the Heidi Swapp bird on the top right corner of the photo and used some chalk inks.  I used my She’s Savvy Kit from Scrapbook Savvy to create the rest of it and I am very happy with the way it has come together. I love the Thickers glitter alphas!  This is my 3/50 layouts I am creating to dig into my stash and use some of it 🙂

The photo is of my sister and I outside the Melbourne Exhibition Building when we went to the Papercraft Expo a few weeks ago. We had a great day shopping together for our favourite bits and pieces and spending time together which is getting harder and harder these days!

Hop on over and have a go at this challenge and get out of your comfort zone if you haven’t tried using them

Happy Scrapping x

 

8 thoughts on ““Stencils and Masks Challenge!”

  1. Love your stencils and masks and the colours are perfect. Lovely layout. I bet you had a wonderful time with your sister and had a great creative shopping day.Thanks for joining us at Off The Rails Scrapbooking.

  2. That photo is FABULOUS…I’ve just been to the show with my Mum here in NSW….it’s a BLAST…glad you’re doing a ‘use them up’ with 50 pages idea! Anyways, got sidetracked….LOOOVE the way you’ve used the stencils [Heidi S has GREAT little vids!!] & I especially like the way you’ve played with the aqua colours on your page…thanks for joining us at Off The Rails:):):)

  3. very nice. hmm.. gd idea of using mask for stamping. thanks for joining us at Off The Rails Scrapbooking. Love to see more of your projects. Keep them coming. 🙂

  4. Great technique . Love the stencils and mask you’ve used. That background pp is fab! Thanks for joining in at OTR 🙂

  5. Great work Kerri! Great use of technique with the mask, and fabulous colour palette too. (Those glitter Thickers are one of my faves!) Thanks for playing along with us at Off the Rails! X

Leave a Reply

