“Life Lesson!”

There are lots of things my parents have taught me and guided me on throughout my life. How to look after ourselves and do the thankless jobs like washing, vacuuming, dusting and cooking etc have been a few of them. When my sister and I were at home mum would have a Roster system, which I hated, but it taught us responsibility and life lessons.

One of the most important lessons I feel is important for my boys, is how to look after themselves after they leave home. With Cody already living out of home and being independent, I can see the things that I have instilled in him coming out.  My boys have always done their own washing from their middle teens and have always helped me with house hold jobs. This has taught them how to do these jobs, to look after themselves and they know they have helped me too.

Cooking proper meals is very important and it has always been fun in our household. From when they were little helping Gran cook cakes and their fave treats, and then to me teaching them basic recipes so they can feed themselves healthily. Even now when Cj comes around for dinner once a week, both of my boys still like helping me as you can see in these pics of my boys when we were having a Home made Pizza night 🙂

This month ‘Domesticated’ was the challenge over @ http://scraptheboys.blogspot.com.au/  and of course I had to do a layout.

007I wanted to document that my boys have learnt how to deal with ‘life’ after home and that they still enjoy cooking with me.  It is great to see my boys happy, healthy, strong and independent, which is what I want for them 🙂

For this one I misted a stencil and used ink through one. Then I used some PL cards and layered with some photos. To add a bit of interest I added a bit of washi tape and some stitching.

Hop on over and have a go at this fun challenge before the end of the month.

Happy Scrapping x

4 thoughts on ““Life Lesson!”

  1. Love the design you have used here. Good to see young men learning lessons that will serve them well later in life. Thanks for playing with STB.

  2. Great layout Kerri! And so good to see your boys are have learnt how to do all those household tasks independently. (Well done to you!) Thanks for playing along with us at STBs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

